Day 6- A little bit of drama

For a Monday, today flew by. We started the morning off with two cooperative games. To play the birthday line up game (which is usually a favourite) I had to pre-teach the vocabulary. Once I taught them the months of the year in English, we had to figure out what number order the months were also in (I.e., July is 7). Then I brought a few teachers up to the front of the class to model how they would use body language and their fingers to figure out the correct order they should line up in. 20 minutes later we were ready to play the game! Overall, because I took so much time to pre-teach vocabulary and strategy the students did a great job. There was only one mix up out of 30 people which is pretty impressive. I also taught them a fun ‘groups of’ game, which again started off slow but after 10 minutes of modelling and explaining once they got the game, they had a great time playing it.

I have found even with pre-teaching vocabulary, speaking slowly and having what I have said translated, a lot is still lost in translation. It takes longer for participants to understand the meaning of the activities and why I am introducing them. But once they understand they really seem to enjoy what they are doing.

I also introduced Reader’s Theatre! 🎭 They were given lots of time to practice their parts and look up words. I would say overall, this way an activity that everyone really enjoyed. The performances were great!!

In the afternoon, I taught them a variety of simple math games that I brought from home. They enjoyed trying different games and even made up some of their own!

Here are a few pictures and videos from today:

Leave a comment